Slovakia is among the few nations in Central Europe with a well-developed double culture heritage. For centuries the nation was either completely Protestant or Catholic, afterwards on the Roman Catholic Church was absorbed to the government and the Protestants made their way to the authorities. The country, now called Slovakia, has been a former Eastern Bloc country for over a hundred years. The government, now called PC Slovakia, has been working hard to promote this multi-cultural heritage. There are two official languages in the country, but because of the high level of immigration and inter-marriage that there are scores of minority languages spoken in the nation. The government encourages these minorities to learn languages to be able to maintain the nation's unity.

One of the most often asked questions about Slovakia concerns its money. Slovakia has been very reluctant to join the euro currency. The government is still working on designing a new financial structure and is expected to complete it by the end of 2004. At the moment the only legal currency which can be utilised in Slovakia is the Euro. However, the government does not view this as an issue as it is estimated that ten percent of its gross domestic product comes from the selling of oil and other all-natural resources.

In addition to the reluctance to enter the euro zone, Slovakia also has a problem with non-European Union tourists. The visa regulations for visitors by the EU and other countries requires visa processing time intervals for residents of slovenia. In practice this usually means a long wait between when you travel to a different country and if your visa is approved. In the past few years the government has embraced a policy of visa-free travel. This means that citizens of slovenia are allowed to go to another country without the need of a visa. This visa free travel policy is available to citizens of member countries of the European Union (EU), except Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, Sweden, Slovakia, and the United Kingdom.

To facilitate visa processing for taxpayers of slovenia, and to facilitate the accession of all EU taxpayers, the government is currently offering a three pronged approach to deal with these taxpayers' concerns. First, the government will soon be introducing a multi-entry travel approval form for citizens of slovenia who wish to travel to another country in the future. The intention of this form is to ensure that citizens of the EU have easier access to their own country of destination by allowing them multiple entrance journey authorization.

Secondly, the government is also introducing a visa waiver for taxpayers of slovenia traveling into another european country. This will allow visa processing for slovenian citizens on a case by case basis. Presently there is no visa requirement for citizens of slovenia travelling to another country. The third prong from the plan is an extensive visa waiver application. This will enable people from all over the world, with a couple of limitations, to apply for a visa to visit the nation. The governments of the US, UK, and Australia are thinking of reciprocating this app.

The Visa Waiver and Multi-entry Travel Authority will make the practice of traveling to some EU country a lot simpler for citizens of slovenia. However, the application may not achieve the prerequisites necessary for citizens of other countries to apply visa waiver along with multiple entrance travel authorization. For instance, the Visa Waiver for citizens of Belgium would likely require that the applicant have at least a diploma from a school which was registered in that country. Similarly, the UK's EEC Visa Service may necessitate the potential applicant to have at least an associate degree from an accredited college or university. These programs could be subject to change.